Ready to go.

My plane to Kuala Lumpur takes off at 12:00 of October 15th. It’s 2:43 a.m. of October 15th, and I’m finally ready to go.

This last week has been hectic. First I have been running around to gather the last pieces of gear, fetch my new passport, and complete my vaccinations. I am now ready to face malaria, typhus, rabies, tetanus, and a bunch of other pathogens, with no or little fear. This would not have been possible without the Centre for Travel Medicine of the University of Zurich, that made a great job as usual in spite of my constitutional tardiness.

Now, even my rucksack is ready. For whom may be interested, here is what is going to be in it.

My gear.
My equipment for the trip.

CLOTHES
shirts (3 t-shirts + 2 long sleeves)
underwear (9 knickers + 5 pairs of socks)
boots + Teva sandals
Mosquito head net
Long trousers x1 (jeans)
Long trousers x1 (jungle trousers, detachable legs)
Shorts x2
Buff
Hat
waterproof jacket
waterproof trousers

SLEEPING
Hammock + tarp*
Mosquito bed net
cotton sleeping bag
FEEDING
Burner for cooking + fuel (to be bought in Borneo)
lighters
Food (to be bought in Borneo)
Nalgene bottles x2
Water filter

MED KIT
Includes:
Malarone
creams against fungi
mosquito spray
pills for sterilizing water
painkillers


IGIENE
Toothbrush and toothpaste
Nail clipper
Soap
towel

PAPERWARE
Borneo map
Books (Borneo guide, Stranger in the Forest)
Notebooks, journals, pens

ELECTRONICS
Canon 100D + 18-200mm and 28mm*, 5 extra batteries and charger
Nikon W100 compact camera (waterproof)
Lumix compact camera (waterproof)
Smartphone + charger
Universal charger
AAA batteries x10
Headlamp

MISCELLANEA
pocket knife
Sunglasses
Second pair of glasses
compass

This is more or less it. It can all fit decently in a 55+ Deuter rucksack, and hopefully it will be enough for keeping me going for the next… Weeks? Months? We’ll see.

That’s all for now. See you in KL.

* I received hammock and camera lens from my friends and colleagues at the University of Zurich, as a gift when I completed my PhD. It was a touching present. All I can say is, thank you guys!

One thought on “Ready to go.

Leave a Reply

